97% property tax devaluation at Chesapeake Ederville fracking drill site

IMG_2635

Chesapeake’s damage to surface property values for this Ederville site is over $415,000.  This does not include the recent environmental damages to actual soil when gas and produced fluids was spraying all around.IMG_2637
—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Roger Venables <roger.venables@arlingtontx.gov>
Sent: Monday, December 16, 2013 1:52 PM
Subject: What is net effect on TAD tax valuations for Chesapeake surface vs mineral?

Roger, in the past I have asked for gaswell devaluations near drilling reports for Arlington and hope by now you have ordered these? In fairness to understand the current net effect, we need to know what the mineral tax valuations offsets are (TAD state code G1). Certainly the income on minerals valuations will be short lived due to the hyperbolic decline curve in gas production with these horizontal laterals.

Please let me know so I can request a copy and update my blog post on this.

The lady from the drill site in Ft Worth that spewed twice in a month (with the last time trapping her in her home during an ice storm) wrote me in response to a press release (see below)….Janice wrote: “I went to the Tarrant County Appraisal District and requested a hearing to get the property taxes on my house lowered because of the location across the street from a gas well and got a letter the next week stating that my taxes have been lowered (13% or $9,000) without the hearing.”  She also wrote of her health issues… “I mentioned a health problem to my doctor that I have noticed since living across the street (225′) from a gas well. I mentioned to her that I lived directly across the street from the gas well site and she had no comment. I could be imagining it, but I thought she had an odd look on her face.”
I noticed that the Ederville Chesapeake drill site property near her, (TAD# 05315832  TAD state code J2), lost almost 97% ($320,000) in taxable value. Property that used to be worth $2.55 sq ft is now worth .07 cents per sq ft.
IMG_2629
IMG_2628
Also Chesapeake’s eight parcels of land behind the homes adjacent to the padsite were also reduced in total by $96,000 and are valued at a whopping .07 cents per sq ft.
IMG_2634
Chesapeake’s damage to surface property values for this Ederville site is over $415,000.  This does not include the recent environmental damages to actual soil when gas and produced fluids were spraying all around.
 
Roger, is there a plan for our appraisal team (Pritchard & Abbott) to jack Chesapeake’s valuations back up when the wells peter out so we get needed tax dollars for our budget? I bet Chesapeake ends up having another firesale…hope not literally though, but with each passing year as the infrastructures age, the fire risks do go up especially when they weld on those storage tanks that belch out invisible hydrocarbons 24/7.
This devaluation isn’t fair to the adjacent property south of the drill site where they are paying a commercial market price of $1.20 sq ft.
IMG_2633
A couple years ago before the Fulson padsite gas well spewed at Sublett and 360, Jane Lynn told me of her success in complaining by phone and getting an immediate tax reduction on her property too. I studied both the Fulson site and my Truman/Cowboys Stadium drill site TAD records and found similar losses as described above. I understand that they are having trouble selling or developing that land adjacent to the Fulson site; that WAS a prime location.
Here are the press releases from not one, but two Dallas bloggers regarding my 31% home devaluation near fracking. My $story$ is circulating…maybe this should get people actively protesting the value of their homes near drill sites especially since those royalty checks aren’t that impressive.
Oh and lets not forget that Chesapeake/DFW Midstream got a 25% reduction near Bowie Highschool….I emailed Texas Instruments to remind them of this “cash on the table/protest opportunity” for their property.
Ask and you shall receive….follow the  money….it rule$.
—– Forwarded Message —–
From: Facebook <update+zzvf1vfz@facebookmail.com>
To: Kim Triolo Feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
Sent: Monday, December 16, 2013 10:15 AM
Subject: Janice Colston commented on a link you shared.
Janice Colston commented on a link you shared.
Janice wrote: “I went to the Tarrant County Appraisal District and requested a hearing to get the property taxes on my house lowered because of the location across the street from a gas well and got a letter the next week stating that my taxes have been lowered without the hearing.”

http://www.flickr.com/photos/cityoffortworth/5580042445/

Interesting photo of our past Ft Worth mayor with real estate guy Michael Mallick-thats all for now.

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I ran City Council Seat to try to enforce this. I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town, and have become ultra sensitive to pollution since urban drilling has come to Arlington TX. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to the new industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 97% property tax devaluation at Chesapeake Ederville fracking drill site

  1. veraduerga says:

    amazing there is no outrage from the town , county, neighbors about all this…..same here, just quiet acquiescence.

Leave a Reply

