Ground Zero Emissions & Explosion “been there-done that” in Norco LA

Folks – as you read  this, please keep in mind how we are drilling for natural gas in highly populated areas.  I know the trauma of being next to a toxic, industrial site…God help us.

I guess I should add that my girlfriend lives with migraines out there in Norco and she told me last night that her dad has a blood disease. He lives near where they relocated that Diamond neighborhood. Another girl I knew died of a sudden brain hemorrhage at age 19. And the “Judge’s” daughter I worked with, also suffered with migraines. Wow these are/were all fenceline people to Shell Oil. 

How many fence line families in my Barnett Shale Hell?

—– Original Message —–

From: Kim Feil

To: SubraCom@aol.com

Cc: robert.cluck@arlingtontx.gov ; Kim & Ken Feil

Sent:Wednesday, July 27, 20116:10 PM

Subject: Dr Cluck going out on a limb-Subra can you reign him in for us?

 Dear Wilma Subra, on the the link http://arlingtonwatchdog.com for the April 22 entry/Fox video, our Mayor, Dr Cluck made a statement about how fracking fluid recipes were secret but that nothing carcinogenic was in it…how gullible!  

Please help him hear both sides of the picture since the people informing him are obviously from the industry.

—– Original Message —–

From: Kim Feil

To: SubraCom@aol.com

Cc: robert.cluck@arlingtontx.gov ; Kim & Ken Feil

Sent:Wednesday, July 27, 201111:11 PM

Subject: Re: Dr Cluck going out on a limb-Subra can you reign him in for us?

http://www.commonweal.org/programs/fg_fenceline/subra.html#top

Wilma, I just read this and realize it was you that did that work in the Norco Louisiana area to get Shell to buy out that low-income Diamond neighborhood.  I worked a block from there on the Shell Oil fence line (for 5 years!) as a teller at the American Bank on River Road and Apple Street.

I was working once or twice at the bank when we had a chlorine or ammonia leak? and it got completely foggy-white outside…the first time it happened, I ran and hid upstairs in the bathroom stall (like I was safe there.)  I remember the customers running indoors and us all being on lockdown and they kept opening the damn door to let people in and the fog was getting in the bank!

I lived in New Sarpy during that time. When driving a short distance to Norco on River Road, the “low lying area” halfway there was ALWAYS where it smelled the strongest. I was good at holding my breath.  I was 19 when I first moved there from the Hammond LA area and didn’t know better. I trusted that if people lived there that it must be safe.

Then I lived and worked nearby in Destrehan for three years and when the 1988 explosion happened, (the bed lifted off the floor and slammed us down) my boyfriend wanted to check on his relatives that lived on the fence line from the refinery (not Good Hope St) but the other street..there I sat on the passenger side of my car and faced the roaring sound of the tanks. The heat from the flames with the ground trembling under the car was unforgettable-like a war zone.

I touched the glass and it was HOT!  We didn’t stay long and I kept saying “this isn’t safe- we shouldn’t be here” and we dared not open a window and left.  By the time we got out of there, we had to take a two hour detour to get back to Destrehan. 

I remember I had to go straight to work and needed gasoline and was so flipped out I spilled a little gasoline on my jeans in noticing that the paint was peeling on my car on the side that faced the refinery (from the heat? from the chemicals?) To this day I cannot pump gas without getting sick…I wear a respirator now when I have to put gas in my car. I regret not having a hybrid, we couldn’t afford one. 

I lived for over 15 years in Arlington and worked by General Motors, but it wasn’t until GM had a drill site for natural gas on their property that I was smelling that  Norco smell”  and I called 911 and complained. 

Since my Louisiana experience and since we have been urban drilling for almost five years now here in Arlingotn TX,…I have slowly but surely become highly sensitive to sounds, odors, certain foods, and now some sensitivity to light.

I wanted to share this with you and thank you for coming out to FT Worth a while back to debate Ed Ireland at the League of Neighborhoods Fire Station House. I was the one who asked you about the Bentonite mud and how the MSDS sheet said it was toxic to the lungs…remember me ?

Now I am begging you to help me…I cannot go on living like this knowing that my airshed contains BTEX from fossil fuel extraction and processing activities.

I regularly smell a sickly, sweet odor that I fear is benzene or glycol or glycol ethers.

I have almost 800 pages of documentation to warn others especially our city councils. Will you take my word documents and send them to LSU for safekeeping?

Please help me…my husband works jobs in Ft Worth and Dallas and I have a couple of rental properties across the street from where I live and I really don’t know where to move where my husband doesn’t have to drive for hours to work.

I have never begged anybody before, but I am now!

My son has already been BTEX symptomatic in Feb of 2010 and I am scared. I have kept a medical diary and it is on 

https://barnettshalehell.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/barnett-shale-arlington-tx-health-effects-diary-natural-gas-urban-drilling-emissions-and-the-canary-effect/

The earliest Arlington report of illness that I could find was back in 2009 in the comments section.

http://durangotexas.blogspot.com/2009/12/giant-new-barnett-shale-gas-drilling.html

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

