UPDATE valve stuck open…again?..Almost 1,230,000 ppb VOC at urban NG compressor station near Arlington TX

Update…I was asked to make a record on this blog and on Facebook that today, 8/24/2011, Dakota Lee of DFW Midstream said that they will put a vapor recovery system on the dump valve. We aim to follow up on that promise and hope the stinky days are over!  Thanks to the hard work of citizens driving to that site and baby sitting it and involving TCEQ and city employees…we have made some progress!!!! end update


 Thursday morning, 8/18/2011 before lunch a Pantego resident was on her way to the salon and had health effects in driving by the DFW Midstream Compressor Station in Dalworthington Gardens. TCEQ came right out and took air samples and made sure the mis-calibrated valve on a compressor was fixed before he left the site.

I spoke with Kijun at TCEQ today and he said the handheld registered 1,229 ppm Volatile Organic Compounds (ACL 1108073 of 8/18/11). The investigator also had health effects of a sore throat and burning eyes.  I told him if I was his mamma I’d make get a BTEX test.

Here is Betty’s letter she wrote to me on 8/22/2011. She is a resident of Pantego that lives close to the compressor station…..
“I want to re complain about the natural gas site in Dalworthington Gardens, TX. It is located on the road Pioneer Park Way and Michigan Ave.   Last week end (8/18/2011) one of your men came out and found there was a high level of toxic fumes coming from there. He said it made him feel sick also. He took an air sample and told me there was a valve open, but it was fixed.  I know you were called again (8/22/2011) about the same place and they found the valve open again.  You are killing me and my lungs with this pollution. I can hardly breath today.  It is like being in the Nazi Gas Chambers if you live close to the site. I’m so sick and tired that you don’t stop the pollution. You are harming more people than me. I think people should start a protest. I’m very very angry that this is allowed to keep going on. I’m going to check on the place each day, and complain each day, till you do something to stop the pollution for good. Betty”……………………………

I believe it was Chesapeake that once said that there is less than half of a percent in the Barnett Shale mix of benzene. But take the math to what the TVA readings had, and we may be looking at this emission event being over 11 times the short term TCEQ Benzene ESL (effect screening level).

Based on ERG’s Ft Worth air study statement that “2% of Ft Worth drill site emissions are HAP’s (Hazardous Air Pollution)”, then yesterday the Dalworthington Gardens HAP emissions were around 24,580 ppb.

No call was made to 911 in DWG, I’ll check Arlington dispatch records.

The DWG resident wrote an hour later to me that she was still sick….”Today when I drove by the pumping station, the fumes were over whelming. It made my head swim, my stomach sick, and eyes water.  It stunk like hell too. I have been very sick with health problems ever since the start of drilling gas wells in my area. I would like to know when you (TCEQ) are going to clean up our air. I know a lot of others that are sick.  …… It’s 12:48 pm  now, I still feel sick from driving close to the pressure pumping station. now I have a bad headache. ………….. I never had any kind of allergies till the gas wells showed up.”     Later Betty wrote me…“I’m going to put up a sign on the road close to campo verde. Most people don’t know there is a gas plant down there. My head still, feels foggy today, Can’t think too good. My eyes are still watering today. I didn’t get out of the house much yesterday because I feel so bad”. Betty

The suma canister results of both investigations found no violations or nuisance.

                                                              

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to UPDATE valve stuck open…again?..Almost 1,230,000 ppb VOC at urban NG compressor station near Arlington TX

  1. http://www.cityofdwg.net/documents/031909minutes.pdf page 6 regarding how an urban NG compressor station can look…”The architectural design of the building shall be compatible
    with the visual context of surrounding development in the
    same zoning district. The building may be designed as a
    representation of, but not be limited to, the following
    building types: barn structure; estate residence; school or
    similar institution; gazebo or picnic area enclosure; club
    house or recreational facility; retail or office building; or,
    any combination of the above.”

  2. Susan Donnelly says:

    Approximately 10 days ago on August 18th here in Dalworthington Gardens we experienced a significant fish kill (estimated 1500). These fish died all at once as if they had been poisoned. Of particular note we live on property with the adjoining pond which is much smaller and normally would connect to the larger pond wherein the fish died, however, since the level of the pond is so low there has been very little transmission of water by way of the culverts into our pond. Consequently as no fish have died in our pond and a large kill occurred in the adjoining pond,would it not be prudent to test for a foreign toxic substance which would prove no other cause is to blame as has been suggested by the neighbor who cleaned out the dead fish. Would you agree that having this large of a fish kill would be the result of a toxic release in the area. As we are surrounded by gas well sites, one must consider that this is a probable drilling related incident. Would it be possible for someone to determine the nature of this environmental detriment? If so who should address this issue? Who among the inspectors could be expected to do a fair and truthful evaluation? Thank you for keeping us informed.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

