Attn: Tangipahoa Parish Council on #fracking water risk – please read ASAP on Lipsky case

My name is Kim Triolo Feil and I grew up in the Tangipahoa parish area. The Advocate covered a story recently “Fracking Debate Spills Over to Tangipahoa Council”. Please read my comment on that article* where I speak from my own personal experience with fracking related air quality concerns, surface equipment vibrations damages, and health issues.

Below is a statement of Steve Lipsky’s expereince. He is a Parker County TX resident. Please read and apply accordingly to the related water risks to YOUR Tangipahoa parish acquifers.  There will be a BIG press release soon on water well testing results, but I think you need to not wait for that. Here is a video I took myself at his home…

by Steve Lipsky
August 11, 2014
“I am doing a new isotope test with the biggest lab in the country.
We have over half of it done and the rest should be completed in the next week. I have some of the best scientist working with me on this. What we have found will be 100% proof of we’re the gas came from. This will show us how and when my water we’ll went bad. The gas in it is not natural and could have only got there one way. My water well was drilled in 2005 by Pecks Water We’ll Service. When it was drilled we had no gas in the water. Late 2009 and early 2010 we noticed many problems with the water but had no idea what was causing it. July of 2010 my 5 thousand gallon holding tank ran out of water.
We called Pecks Well service thinking that are well went dry. When they got here they said my water well is 180 feet deep and has over 100 foot of water. They said my water well is gas locking because of all the gas in it. They disconnected my water pipe going to the tank and had it pour out directly from my water well. They took a lighter and lite the water coming out on fire. They took pictures and said they never saw anything like this happen before. They said my well had no gas in it when they put the water well in 2005 and now it has so much gas in it that it can’t continue to pump and the water lights on fire. I called everyone in the state of TX and was called that the Texas Railroad Commission is in charge of this. I called them to come out to ask them if they could help me find a new place to drill my well on the 14 acres I owned. When the got here they said that they could not help me with finding a better location for the well, but could look up if there was any gas drilling in my area. He open his laptop and told me that a company drilled from 2 thousand feet away a completed a Fracking gas well in 9/15/2009. I said that this is impossible because our subdivision does not allow gas attraction in our neighborhood. He showed the map on his laptop and it showed horizontal gas drilling from a gas well on the very edge of are subdivisions it had 2 legs one going threw the front of my house and running under my water well and the other on the very back of my property running towards the River. They said they will go over to the gas well and do a test called a bradenhead test. They assured me that it would pass and that they have never caused water contamination. A few days later I say the TRRC truck in my cul de sac. I pulled up to the truck and they told me that the gas well failed the test and that they would have to do more testing but not to worry.
But at the meeting days earlier they said the gas well would not fail and if it did there would have to be a big investigation. Know they are down playing it. They also told that the gas company was owned by Range Resources. This the first time I ever heard of this name before, but after finding out the time and date of there gas well 9/15/2009 and that the well showed it had problems and later the EPA telling me that there isotope test done on my water well matched the gas from Ranges drilled gas line called the Butler the gas line that threw the front of my house and under my water well.
The EPA issued a emergency order demanding Range supply me with water. This order was issued early 2011. When I found out that my water was so contaminated with gas July 2010 I never used the water again. My wife and 3 young children moved out and went to here parents house in Graham TX for a month and I stayed there when I could but the TRRC needed me around for testing. The man in charge from the TRRC was Doug Almond. He said if we would not have found out the gas problem when we did it should have been catastrophic either the house would have blown up or we just would have not woke up one day. The TRRC has a bad reputation and most of the people in TX including or own government says they are corrupt and work for the gas industry and not the people. After working with them for months it is safe to say it is all true. Some of the people in the field who work for the TRRC are good people and are trying to do there job but the people in charge will not them do there job and if they don’t listen these people and if they push it they will be looking for a new job. Doug Almond tried to do his job and in Dec. 2010 he wrote a violation letter to Range and they responded that they would go back and fix it with a plug and cement. 2 months later they wrote back to the TRRC and said they decided not do anything and the TRRC never followed threw with the violation, they just turned there head the other way even though the violation clearly broke the law. I feel sorry for anyone trying to do there job like Doug Almond. I have reached out several time to try to talk to him but the TRRC will not let me. I turned into a political ping bong ball when the EPA stepped in.
The only reason they did was because the TRRC told them that they shelved the investigation. This know allowed the EPA to step in where they could not before because of state laws. The EPA came out in Aug of 2010 and said that could not step in because TX law states it is the jurisdiction of the TRRC but when they said they were done and could not find a answer to the problem this opened the door for the EPA. The TRRC told me that my case was going to Austin and that some of the best scientist would be calling me and working on my case. Months past I clearly new they shelved my study. It was several months later when I got the call from the EPA saying that they were stepping in and sending scientist to do the correct testing. The TRRC was not happy when they found out that the EPA was stepping into the investigation. I was just as shocked. The TRRC called me and told me I had 15 days to come to Austin for hearing on the case. The EPA said that they would not be a party to it because it was a wast of there time and the testing Range was doing in these 15 days would not be shared and the TRRC was not offering any discovery to anyone. I also had to file papers not to be a party to the hearing because what could do if we had no access to any of there papers or 29 water test in my area. The TRRC agreed and said that I was not a party to the hearing. My attorney talked to the attorney who used to be the lead council for the TRRC and to 2 others that lead investigators they all said 15 days is unheard of and that it usually takes 9 months or more to organize a hearing and was clear the reason for it was to attack the EPA. The hearing was a joke the only people testifying was Range and there experts and water we’ll test including mine saying that we had no contamination and no methane gas coming from my we’ll vent. They said that my water had a gas reading of 2.0 and 2.3 mg/L and my water we’ll vent and water had a ambient air gas reading of methane and ethane of 0.
Months earlier Ranges president of safety came out and saw my water head space vent burning a flame of ofer 4 feet and they also had pictures of my water on fire including one from the water well driller July 2010 when they took the picture I had no idea of the gas drilling under it in Sept 2009. This is the day when are problems started and it got so bad that the well would not continue to pump water without gas locking. The water well driller said if we tried to continue to use it it would burn out the water pump. After having the family move out and me sometimes staying in the guest house in Aug 2010 with no water windows open and the air on. I had 2 five gallon water buckets by the bathroom door I got from the River so I could flush the toilet. A couple of times I had to use 5 gallon Ozarka water to clean up. My five said what are we going to do the kids are going back to school at the end of Aug 2010 should we rent a apartment? I remembered a trucking company who helped us fill the pool and said the water trailer they used is only used for clean city water. I had them come out with a load of water 5,500 gallons we used the first load and gallons of bleach to flush the water tank and the house and water heaters. Then had then come back with another load. The water tank I had only held 5 thousand gallons so we had to spend around $50k on another 5k tank and expensive foundation for it behind the well house that had a bad slope to the a creek. We also had to put a PVC line up to the main road so the could fill them when are alarm went off letting us know when we had room for the 5,500 gallons of trucked in city water. Over 90% of the water cost was trucking it in. Each load cost over $400 thank god we only use it for the house and pool all Irigation comes from the River and always has we got the permit from the Brazes River Authority in early 2005. We use less water from are well when used then almost everyone in the subdivision because they do not access to the river they have to use there water well. The EPA testing of my water well showed my gas levels were dangers and the gas isotopes of my water and gas matched Ranges gas well and this proved that they did it. Late 2011 the EPA settled with Range because they could not afford to follow threw the court system with them and Range agreed to do a national gas study with them. The EPA also new the gas company was suing me for 4 million dollars for reasons that the EPA new were untrue. Including that Range did not cause the problem and were suing for slander because they claim even thow the EPA proved that they caused my water contamination the TRRC says they did not. In 2011 a Parker County Judge ruled that I could not sue Range because the TRRC had the jurisdiction of the case. The TRRC hearing only had Range and there experts testifying. If you look up the transcripts and exhibits you can see the hearing is a joke. The judges were a panel of three from the TRRC and they never had the team hew did all the field work at my house show up or speak. They never talked about the violation filed by there own group. The only information used was Ranges. Today everyone knows the information was incorrect and the people who ruled on it where not qualified and where not given all the facts and truth. Late 2013 many of the people had there water tested and it showed very dangerous levels. December 2013 the OIG office of DC released a report saying they still feel Range contaminated my water we’ll and reports are showing it is spreading to others in the area and someone needs to test the gas levels in the water and also the air in the houses and tanks because they show to be explosive.
The TRRC only tested the gas isotopes and not the air or gas levels.
It took them 6 months to release there report and the know say that the test show the isotopes with the gas in are water matches with Range. They say they still need more testing but they are not going to do it, but they are open to others. They no longer say Range did not do it but they also say they are not sure they did. They say it is inconclusive. Range no longer has the TRRC protecting them from me or my neighbors. The water tested out here shows some of the worse contaminated residential water wells in the country. My last test showed over 80 mg/L of gas and over 900,000 gas coming out of the water well head space vent. Both of gases where tested and showed over 80% methane around 15% Ethane and around 5% natural propane along with other things only found in the Barnett gas zone.”


http://www.searchanddiscovery.com/abstracts/html/2012/90142ace/abstracts/korn.htm

Integrated Evaluation of Alleged Natural Gas Contamination of the Trinity Aquifer by Horizontal Gas Wells Completed in the Barnett Formation, Southern Parker County, Texas
Kornacki, Alan *1; Kreitler, Charles W.2; McBeath, John C.3; McCaffrey, Mark A.4
(1) Weatherford Laboratories Inc., Houston, TX.
(2) LBG-Guyton Associates, Austin, TX.
(3) Platt, Sparks & Associates, Austin, TX.
(4) Weatherford Laboratories Inc., Dallas, TX.
“During 2010, the Texas Railroad Commission and the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) responded to complaints by a landowner that his residential water well near Weatherford, Texas was contaminated with natural gas caused by production from two nearby horizontal gas wells (Butler #1H and Teal #1H) operated by Range Production Company. We used geological, geochemical, and petroleum engineering data obtained from those gas wells and from 26 nearby water wells to determine that gas dissolved in the Twin Mountains (Trinity) aquifer is not related to Barnett gas production. Instead, gas present in Pennsylvanian Strawn sandstones migrated across an angular unconformity into the aquifer. Thermal gas is present in shallow Strawn sandstones in Parker County: e.g., the Strawn Center Mills gas field is located ~8500 ft southeast of the landowner’s property. In addition, gas was flared from a water well drilled in 2005 only ~800 ft from the landowner’s property — four years before Range drilled the Butler and Teal wells. Furthermore, a water well drilled in 2003 by the nearby Lake Country Acres water district was abandoned when it flowed >100 Mcf of natural gas/day, and that district’s water storage tanks are aerated to remove dissolved natural gas. The migration of natural gas from Pennsylvanian strata into the overlying Trinity aquifer independently is supported by the presence of ~500-1800 ppm total dissolved solids in water samples from some water wells. In addition, gas fingerprinting confirms that gas produced from the Barnett Formation by the Range wells is not the origin of gas dissolved in the Trinity aquifer. Barnett gas samples obtained from the Butler and Teal wells contain only ~1.2 mol% N2. But most gas samples produced from Pennsylvanian reservoirs in this area contain ~2.0-4.5 mol% N2. Similarly, the natural gas component of headspace gas samples collected from the landowner’s water well and from a nearby water well contains ~2.5-5.0 mol% N2: a match to Strawn gas. The EPA erroneously relied only on the similarity of the C and H isotopic composition of methane in gas samples from the landowner’s water well and the Butler gas well to conclude that Range was responsible for contaminating the Trinity aquifer. But C isotope data cannot distinguish Barnett gas from Strawn gas: e.g., methane produced by the Range gas wells, the 2005 water well that flared gas, and the landowner’s water well has the same C isotopic composition.”

AAPG Search and Discovery Article #90142 © 2012 AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition, April 22-25, 2012, Long Beach, California


* Here is my (Kim Triolo Feil) statement that I added to the Advocate article….I’m from Tangipahoa/Independence and now in Arlington (gasland) TX where we have over 350 gaswells in a 99 sq mile area and still have a chance they can come back and finish what they started when the price of NG goes back up. There is so much worrisome loopholes in public protections that I started to post the info on BarnettSHaleHell.wordpress.com. Our local leaders never did a health and environmental impact study before they put these mini refineries in our back yards and near our schools. They blindly left it up to the state (which is like having the fox watch the hen house). Our state inspectors were mentioned in a news article today about how our railroad comission (that regulates the oil & gas industry) wasn’t even aware of how much flaring and wasting of the minerals that is going on in south Texas called the Eagleford Shale. One time when they were putting the well closest to my home into production (drilling out the plugs), an odor came into my home while my mother-in-law was visiting. That night she got sick…later I interviewed employees downwind of the Chesapeake drill site near the ATT Cowboys Stadium…through open records, I found out the TCEQ, five firetrucks, & one EMT was dispatched …but alas no violations was found and yet the odor could be smelled about two miles downwind. But its what you don’t see and don’t smell that you should fear. It should be the unknown effluents that can migrate into drinking water supplies and dead cows like the ones in Caddo parish you should fear…don’t think money is free…don’t think those jobs last…and for those men that do work…they need to get a baseline blood and urine test, go to work and at the end of the work day get retested and save those results for later if they get cancer. The industry will toss them when they are done with them. My husband had cancer last year and my teen has biomarkers for endocrine disruption and rashes..I have had central nervous system issues like twitching and now am sensitive to odors, lights, & noise. Just the surface operations are something to avoid…the diesel trucks, the fracking engines…they shake the ground and disturb the acquifers and make the turbidity worse..a business in Pantego suffered a break in half of their slab foundation after fracking-then the owner was overcome with flowback fumes in her own parking lot and had to have an EMT come out…I blogged about all of this and a whole lot more. The best thing to do is wait..the cancer clusters are starting to show themselves like the breast cancer one in Flowermound TX. The gas/oil isn’t going anywhere…you have the luxury to wait and see cause once you frack you can’t go back.
http://theadvocate.com/home/10093070-125/fracking-debate-spills-over-to

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

