I20 propane fire was near UNSTOPPABLE? flowback operations in Arlington

The high risks of our ‘Urban Drilling Experiment’ in Arlington Gasland Texas had a lucky start to the New Year.

IMG_2959

Guinea Pigs R US in Arlington GASLAND TexASS!

We were lucky when an interstate accident involving a propane tanker near the Vantage Yeandle drill site (at I20 & east of Bowman Springs Rd) was contained without any explosions on the morning of January 2 2015.

WFAA  reported “A nearby natural gas plant opted to stop operations until the fire was out, as a precaution.”  Contrary to this report, a Facebook conversation was as follows which shows the report was less than truthful in that my understanding is that YOU CANNOT STOP FLOWBACK! ….Click here for a 2013 Colorado story where they tried to “shut in a flowback gone wrong” . *Pictures from that Colorado story are posted at the end of this blog.

JL… Ironic that this accident happened next to where that Joe Barton billboard loomed next to that monster drill site

1551483_609673085772899_1186037459_n

photo by Sharon Belvin Sims

… Just received word that the eastbound lane is now open, but the westbound lane is still closed. Do you smell anything from your house, SB?

SB… Ha – I refuse to go outside! lol!

JL… I had a whopper of a headache all day yesterday. Is it possible that those fumes could have affected people 10 miles away? Maybe I had a headache from our regular daily smog on the southeast side…

SB… People are worried about how hot the freeway is and the how deep the damage is on the road. They should be looking up ”natural gas pipelines”……they’re criss-crossed thru there because of that site. Not to mention how many huge tanks are at that location or that it’s in flowback. Glad the fire is out and it can start cooling. Thankful nothing worse happened… I turned the air purifier on in my son’s room. He has been vomiting/nauseated (no fever) since yesterday. Don’t worry JL…..it’s ”clean burning natural gas”…..

JL…An incident on one of these drill sites or a pipeline explosion would be much worse. And you know, because of the water crisis, industry has been experimenting with “waterless fracking” aka “gas frac.” Just what we need ~ more gas trucks on our highways.


If you try to go online with the City of Arlington’s gas well information pages to see what stage that Vantage/Yeandle drill site is in, the information is not populated on the site…

This City of Arlington gas well informational site has been down for the last six to nine months and that is unacceptable.


—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Don Jakeway <don.jakeway@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Cluck <robert.cluck@arlingtontx.gov>; Cynthia Simmons <cynthia.simmons@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Rivera <robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov>; Jimmy Bennett <jimmy.bennett@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; Bridgett White <bridgett.white@arlingtontx.gov>; “jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov” <jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov>; “darren.groth@cityofdenton.com” <darren.groth@cityofdenton.com>; Collin Gregory <collin.gregory@arlingtontx.gov>; Buzz Pishkur <buzz.pishkur@arlingtontx.gov>; Don Crowson <don.crowson@arlingtontx.gov>; Tony Rutigliano <tony@downtownarlington.org>; Susan Schrock <sschrock@star-telegram.com>; Cindy Powell <cpowell@aisd.net>; “cindy.harding@arlingtontx.gov” <cindy.harding@arlingtontx.gov>
Cc: “jay.white@arlingtontx.gov” <jay.white@arlingtontx.gov>
Sent: Saturday, January 3, 2015 3:06 PM
Subject: I20 propane fire was near UNSTOPPABLE? flowback stage?
 If the city would update the drillsite info webpage we would know for sure if this was in flowback stage! What it has been 6-9 months now that this info is not available?
Sincerely

Kim Feil


There are three types of flowback…fow I wonder what type of flowback this Yeandle site was in…then again it is ridiculous for a mother/(former)musician like myself to want to know this type of info in the first place…aka why fracking should have never been allowed into neighborhoods!

At all stage of gas extraction, there are the unnecessary (Benzene) explosive or flammable risks to Arlington public health. January 2, 2015 was a bad day for the fracking fossil fuel industry. In Pennsylvania one of the (daily) water evacuation trucks was involved in the SUV accident that had a fiery ending in the life of an innocent father (soldier) of two….

Screen shot 2015-01-04 at 10.26.04 AM

Here is a PIC from Facebook of a Jan 2 2015 Springville PA  In a separate report, the deceased driver’s wife just finished chemo.

And the other hazard I’d like to point out of recent (Ummn January 2, 2015) is that the storage tanks themselves catch fire (some even WITH lightening arresters)…

Screen shot 2015-01-04 at 10.48.36 AM

Oil tanks catch fire Jan 2 2015 in N Dakota. Click here for that story.

*Below are some Weld County Colorado 2013 pics from an accident during the flowback stage where the well flowed back uncontrolled for more than a day.

http://www.9news.com/story/news/local/2014/02/24/1839862/

http://www.9news.com/story/news/local/2014/02/24/1839862/ Note the flowback tank on the left showing “toxic steam”…. Those rural style flowback tanks can catch on fire. The hydrocarbons have to “vent into the airshed” and then the trucks haul the waste water off. Read here for the unimaginable horror that could happen if a waste hauler collided with a school bus.

Screen shot 2015-01-03 at 1.44.03 PM Screen shot 2015-01-03 at 1.44.40 PM Screen shot 2015-01-03 at 1.45.57 PMupdate…all Arlington I20 lanes are open now but, enter January 3, 2015 and in Haslet TX, we hear of a spill on the highway and when I looked at that address…go figure there are lotsa (flammable) gas wells and tanks near there too!…#fossilFuelFoolsRus

Screen shot 2015-01-03 at 3.45.50 PMScreen shot 2015-01-03 at 5.09.09 PM

Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I20 propane fire was near UNSTOPPABLE? flowback operations in Arlington

  1. It certainly is ridiculous for mothers to need to know this information. It’s absurd that our local and national Govt. would allow this to be in our neighborhoods. However, our primal instinct to protect our children from danger forces us to learn about things that put our kids in harms way. Fracking most definitely falls under that category. It is a constant threat to the health and safety of our children. The dangers that spew from fracking are far too many to list. There is NO part of fracking that is ‘safe’. Our City had failed us miserably. They have put profit above the Precautionary Measure. Their greed has clouded their judgment and has left us with no choice but to protect our own. Arlington is far from the great city it used to be.

  2. It appears that the Yeandle Site is in flowback stage because there were rectangular tanks near the center of the pad this weekend. How considerate of Vantage to halt operations during the propane fire. This must be what best industry practices looks like. So, how do they stop flowback once it is flowing back?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s