Only the monster gathering compressor stations have to detect, fix, & report?

July 2015 update…There has been a posting in the July 7 edition of Environmental Science & Technology on the subject matter of Barnett Shale methane leaks.

Also in Pennsylvania Philly.com reported fly over air studies of methane leaks are underway…

Screen shot 2015-07-07 at 10.19.34 PM Screen shot 2015-07-07 at 10.19.46 PM

End July 2015 update…


After the UT study on sources of methane leaks revealed two major sources from wells as liquid unloadings and pneumatic controller equipment, ANOTHER study found where again the majority of the leaks (“likely due to a faulty valve”) were found at 2 out of 45 sites tested at gas transmission and storage operations. These offenders fell into the category of being unmanned and smaller sized compressor stations (like the ones littered all through our Barnett Shale airshed).

If it is only those gas processing plants that keep people on staff who detect and correct leaks, and if it is those “bigger” compressor station/gathering facilities (that have emissions of 25,000-tonne CO2e) who are required by federal law to fix any found leaks within 5 days and then mandated to submit emissions data to EPA, then hells bells that has to change!

Most gathering stations are NOT subject to those federal regulations!

Well by golly gee lets start manning, fixing, and reporting on these smaller ones due to the aggregate number of these compressor stations!

Sounds like an expensive fix to me…even more of a reason to get off of antiquated, expensive fossil fuels hurdling us towards global warming extinction of the human race.

Here is a video of the Lake Arlington Compressor Station storage tank emissions…

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Robert Cluck <robert.cluck@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Rivera <robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Jimmy Bennett <jimmy.bennett@arlingtontx.gov>; Cynthia Simmons <cynthia.simmons@arlingtontx.gov>; Don Crowson <don.crowson@arlingtontx.gov>; Buzz Pishkur <buzz.pishkur@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; Bridgett White <bridgett.white@arlingtontx.gov>; Susan Schrock <sschrock@star-telegram.com>; Tony Rutigliano <tony@downtownarlington.org>; Collin Gregory <collin.gregory@arlingtontx.gov>; “jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov” <jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov>; Cindy Powell <cpowell@aisd.net>; Brett Shipp <bshipp@wfaa.com>; Stuart Young <stuart.young@arlingtontx.gov>; Roger Venables <roger.venables@arlingtontx.gov>; Jay W. White <jay.white@arlingtontx.gov>
Sent: Friday, February 13, 2015 12:57 PM
Subject: Compressor station Blowdown caught on video
Attn: Arlington leaders, there is no difference in blowdown emissions on electric verses diesel or gas fired compressors. A blowdown is a blow down period. Blowdowns can be planned or emergency in nature.
Tiffany Phu, age 13, died of an Asthma attack at an MISD school and may have been downwind and subjected to a blowdown if there was a meteorological inversion when she was running track that day…but because they don’t keep blowdown or upset records (when they were SUPPOSED to)…we will never know.
Here is some info on what compressor stations based on their size are mandated to do…basically, if it is a mega facility, it is more inclined to be manned (the gas plants are manned), they have to find & fix leaks within 5 days and report emissions.  This is NOT the case with the majority of our compressor stations in the Barnett Shale, yet their aggregate numbers are staggering…to our lungs.
Regardless of their size, if they have a reportable emissions event, they are on the honor system to report events that go over an amount. These amounts vary, of course pure Benzene releases have lower threshold numbers (100 lbs), but the bottom line is the majority of effluents can be emitted up to 5,000 lbs and they don’t have to be reported…imagine that in our residential areas. The two Arlington rice drill site emission events where in one event, a fire truck was said to have followed a white plume for a three neighborhood block area was said to not meet the 5,000 lb reportable amount. Collin Gregory responded to the event when his shift started and he never called the TCEQ…I had to. I was almost six months after I accidentally found out about the event when I asked TCEQ to investigate
The rules for these high impact industrial sites were written for rural areas or industrial zones and Urban Drilling did not get that benefit to have the rules be tightened in releases near schools, homes, churches and businesses.
I’m being very logical here in these statements. What will you do about this problem?
From: XX
To: XX 
Sent: Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:16 PM
Subject: Compressor station Blowdown caught on video
All-
Please visit this youtube site and view what is called a “blowdown” of a vent stack at the Mansfield compressor station that happened to us a couple of weeks ago. A blowdown happens from either a planned or unplanned shut down of the compressor. This is a release of what is in the pipes, valves and other areas within the system and it releases into the atmosphere. On the MGWA website, we have added the documents recieved from TCEQ for approved emissions for this compressor station. It has been approved for 52 planned blowdowns per engine per year or 104 blowdowns per year!. This equates to about 2 blowdowns a week. No emission estimates for unplanned events due to faulty equipment or poweroutages-that will be additional.  Now also remember- the Debbie lane Lease? Edge is wanting to build a compressor station there. Blowdowns will happen there with homes and schools much closer.
If you have problems viewing the video, let me know. Remember- this is a FLIR video so not taken by a regular camera. If you were watching with naked eye–you would not be seeing the emissions.
Mansfield Gas Well Awareness

Dont be afraid to stand for what you believe in, even if that means standing alone-


From Environmental Defense Fund’s Energy Exchange Blog

Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s