They can light their driveway on fire w/methane leak in Owasso OK

Update June 2016 http://grist.org/climate-energy/you-could-be-standing-on-an-abandoned-gas-well-right-this-second/

Update November 2015…the family had to walk away from the home…http://kfor.com/2015/11/12/we-did-an-inspection-we-thought-we-were-good-dangerous-substances-in-some-oklahoma-homes-2/

 

Update July 8 2015Screen shot 2015-07-08 at 3.53.00 PM

Screen shot 2015-07-08 at 3.51.20 PM

end update


UPDATE June 2015 oklahoma casey murphy bubbling back yard neighbor

their neighbor’s backyard swamp looks like Bayou Corne complete with methane bubbles and all…it took a nice rainstorm to uncover this bubbling activity…these pics don’t fully capture the bubbling action.

Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.31 PM Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.32 PM Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.33 PM Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.38 PM Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.49 PM Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.51 PM Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 6.34.52 PM

UPDATE 3/23/15 FOX23 coverage

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Robert Rivera <robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Cluck <robert.cluck@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Jimmy Bennett <jimmy.bennett@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Cynthia Simmons <cynthia.simmons@arlingtontx.gov>; Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Don Crowson <don.crowson@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; Buzz Pishkur <buzz.pishkur@arlingtontx.gov>; Bridgett White <bridgett.white@arlingtontx.gov>; Tony Rutigliano <tony@downtownarlington.org>; Susan Schrock <sschrock@star-telegram.com>; Collin Gregory <collin.gregory@arlingtontx.gov>; Brett Shipp <bshipp@wfaa.com>; “jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov” <jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov>; Cindy Powell <cpowell@aisd.net>; Stuart Young <stuart.young@arlingtontx.gov>; Roger Venables <roger.venables@arlingtontx.gov>
Cc: Liveable Arlington <liveablearlington@gmail.com>; NCTCA Group <nctca@googlegroups.com>; Jim Self <jim.self@arlingtontx.gov>
Sent: Monday, March 23, 2015 8:03 AM
Subject: FOX23 coverage several homes have methane bubbling under their concrete

UPDATE! 3/20/2015

:Update on methane gas….now both neighbors on both sides of us have had there gas cut off too!!! It’s spreading people it’s a community problem we all need to stand together and fight!!!!!


Its been at least seventeen months that there has been a methane leak in Lake Valley Estates in Owasso Oklahoma. One family has been impacted the most…so far.

Here is the link where FOX23 reported on the gas leak back on July 2014.

Homeowner, Max David Murphy, wrote me on Facebook…

“I have a 7 yr old, 3 yr old, and an 18 month old.

I’m worried of possible adverse health risks involved;

this was our first home buying experience….

I have a neighbor says his gas was shut off 3 months before we moved in.

Another maybe three blocks away says her backyard bubbles as well…

ponds bubble as well….

ONG (gas company) came out said they were surveying and said there was a gas leak and they’re going to put us in a hotel a week before Thanksgiving only to say 10 days later during a ice storm that my family and I had to return to a home with no gas service…. had to convert the house to electric. I changed over all appliances with no recourse….

24 confirmed capped wells in the area -undisclosed of course…”

The wife writes on Facebook below the videoHere is the video…

….because it’s spreading!!!!! Its now in the neighbors yard and along the sidewalk and into the road in front of our house, u can see the cracks in the road right in front of our house also it used to be part of our fence line….now it’s the whole fence line that stays wet and bubbles!!!!!”

Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.26 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.28 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.30 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.33 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.39 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.41 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.55 PM Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 11.06.35 PM

Screen shot 2015-03-18 at 12.07.16 AM Screen shot 2015-03-18 at 12.13.16 AM


UPDATE June15, 2015

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Brett Shipp
Sent: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 3:11 PM
Subject: FYI on Viridian/Huffines high end development near Arlington’s first set of plugged wells
 Once we start capping our wells here in Arlington will they stay capped?
  
Earlier I was telling you about the Viridian project and how the first capped/plugged and abandoned sites were done at the Viridian/Huffines location in NE Arlington. I thought they shut down those padsites to make way for upscale homes and I wanted to expose a double standard that rich people don’t want gas wells in their neighborhoods. But the Huffines developer, Robert Kembel, said “as opposed to being opposed to drilling in our new development, we bought the rights to the minerals up……but yes there is gas down there”
The original owner, Sam Ware, thought the motherload of gas would be easier to get because of the deep faults, but later sold to Huffines. Driller, Range Resources, said that area has many faults and to drill laterally into a fault, that the gas isn’t there and those wells weren’t economic…the city cited them for not keeping up the sites…here is the recording… Poole speaks Range Resources LOBF Viridian
My point to this story is that the Huffines/Viridian upscale grand experiment consists of the first set of shut in wells … the Viridian area may start to have nearby mysterious bubbling like in the Oklahoma situation…and may probably be too problematic to be $$$ fixable as the Oklahoma situation has been going on for almost two years now.
Thanks again Brett for all your great investigative reporting.
Kim

update on how I tried to help on 7/8/15..

Screen shot 2015-07-08 at 4.04.16 PM

Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They can light their driveway on fire w/methane leak in Owasso OK

  1. susan donnelly says:

    Susan.Donnelly @okbu.edu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s