Houston we have a FLINT problem

July 2016 update here is the NRDC Flint report that mentions Texas’ lead problem
“Under the Lead and Copper Rule, if more than 10 percent of the tested taps contain lead above the action level of 15 ppb, the water system must take measures to reduce lead levels. These measures include better corrosion control and removal of lead service lines over a specified time period. The 15 ppb level should be thought of as a way to prioritize the worst risk to human health—not as a safe level. No public health or pediatric authorities believe drinking water with 14 ppb is safe and that 15 ppb is unsafe. As the EPA has said, only zero exposure to lead is safe”.
“NOTWITHSTANDING UNDERREPORTING, OVER 200 COMMUNITY SYSTEMS WERE REPORTED IN VIOLATION OF THE HEALTH-BASED TREATMENT REQUIREMENTS OF THE LEAD AND COPPER RULE IN 2015”.
—-end update———-
Is the General Motors Plant in Arlington employing state of the art technologies to their waste water treatments? It has taken too long for them in my opinion to get around to retiring all their old air pollution mitigation devices. To learn more about Arlington’s sources for our drinking water click here.
 
—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: “cynthia.simmons@cityofarlingtontx.gov” <cynthia.simmons@cityofarlingtontx.gov>; Buzz Pishkur <buzz.pishkur@arlingtontx.gov>; “joe.gildersleeve@arlingtontx.gov” <joe.gildersleeve@arlingtontx.gov>
Cc: Robert Rivera <robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; Jimmy Bennett <jimmy.bennett@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Jeff Williams <jeff.williams@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Cynthia Simmons <cynthia.simmons@arlingtontx.gov>; Don Crowson <don.crowson@arlingtontx.gov>; “jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov” <jessica.minley@arlingtontx.gov>; Collin Gregory <collin.gregory@arlingtontx.gov>; Maria Carbajal <maria.carbajal@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; Brett Shipp <bshipp@wfaa.com>; Cindy Powell <cpowell@aisd.net>
Sent: Tuesday, January 26, 2016 11:22 AM
Subject: Cynthia & Mr Gildersleeve, please respond on GM’s emissions #ArlingtonTXtheNextFLINT?
The following is from the newly released 2014 EPA Toxic Release Inventory for the Arlington General Motors Plant.
Note this does NOT include the onsite Chesapeake drill site lift compressors & storage tank’s emission numbers.
GM’s Benzene was 1,351 lbs/yr in 2014. Over the last 14 years they averaged 1,129 lb/yr. The Benzene will only increase as the facility expands. This is not good for public health and how it blows to our Entertainment District and the Viridian development.
 
GM’s Toluene was 6,200 lb/yr in 2014. Over the last 27 years they averaged 21,000 lb/yr. They have greatly improved from the late eighties and first half of 1990’s. There was marked improvement starting in 1996 (the year my second son was born), but has started increasing again after the 2008 partial shutdown.
 
GM’s Xylene was 9,130 lb/yr in 2014. Over the last 27 years they averaged 252,000 lb/yr. Xylene is highly reactive for ozone formation. The Jacobson Effect says that urban airsheds should not have additional pollution loads. Urban airsheds create their own dome of trapped pollution by feeding off itself looping an exponential ozone/smog problem in the localized area. In 2000, it’s highest year, GM emitted 750,000 lbs/ yr. In 2013 GM’s Xylene was 115,000 lb/yr, and in 2012 it was 126,000 lb/yr. Why is it fluctuating like this? How can the state write a SIP if GM is all over the place on this highly reactive VOC? I hope council recalls my testimony asking not to approve those Chesapeake padsites on GM’s property because the airshed in that area was already was overloaded.
 
Dr Cynthia Simmons, please have GM provide a detailed plan in how their expansion will retire old polluting equipment. We need to know that the net effect will be less emissions…we deserve to know if the expansion brings expanded pollution or if it brings state of the art technologies reducing the load. I am extremely disappointed in city staff for not including emissions numbers when the expansions and tax incentives are voted on by council.I am saddened our Christian council doesn’t ask for this information either. You recklessly depend on the TCEQ-the wolf watching the (economic) hen house knowing the state of our air quality being in ozone NON-ATTAINMENT.
 
Last week at the NCTCOG, the TCEQ took public comments as a last ditch effect to improve their ozone State Implementation Plan (SIP) being submitted to the EPA (who could by law take it over a write a plan for them). The EPA was present to witness the hearing and heard folks complain that the TCEQ is basicly submitting a no-action-plan-against-big-hitters like the oil & gas industry. Yet again our state is submitting an already FAILED SIP that will likely not bring us into ozone attainment…so far this is a 20 plus year failure and our city council continues to ignore that we cannot come into ozone attainment. When council votes on gaswells and GM expansion projects, they do not take effluents added to the environment even as I have continued to remind them over the years (which is criminal in my opinion).
 
At the recent public hearing, I personally gave TCEQ/EPA info on: GM’s BTEX, the Jacobson effect, & Arlington’s TTHM tripling since urban drilling. Additionally I complained about how the lift compressors are not mandated under the PBR at our drill sites to be equipped with catalytic converters (updated home rule laws in our GW ordinance would fix this deficient in public protections). 
 
It would have been good if Dr Simmons and council or even staff would have come to the TCEQ meeting to hear the heartbreaking testimonies of those who lost their loved ones to pulmonary disease or care for their sick children through the night who fall asleep in class at school the next day.
 
After the Flint lead problem, Michael Moore’s plea “So unhook the city from that source and let them drink the water known as ‘General Motors’ Sewer‘ – Flint River” has more eyes are looking this way…our way…at what our Arlington GM plant is discharging now….will you wait for some revelation catching you off guard? 
 
GM’s water consumption is in the top five users for our city (In 2011 their water bill was approximately $700,000). Likewise GM is one of our top tax payers. However the residential taxes compose two thirds of our total ta dollars. WE pay the TRA at the CRWS in Grand Prairie to treat and release GM’s water to the Trinity River. What requirements are we as a home rule city imposing on GM’s TMDL to ensure we will not ever have that stigma of “GM sewer water” here in our Trinity River?
Mr. Gildersleeve, how can you assure us that GM is employing state of the art technologies to their waste water treatments? It has taken too long for them in my opinion to get around to retiring all their old air pollution mitigation devices.
 
Kim Feil
Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s