SURPRISE! Higher ASTHMA exacerbation rates near FRACKING – extrapolate this to Arlington Gasland TX

Did a wafting methane plume(s) kill Tiffany Phu in Mansfield TX? Its looking more like it statistically especially in light of this eight year Pennsylvanian study that was published on July 18, 2016 in JAMA entitled….

“Association Between Unconventional Natural Gas Development in the Marcellus Shale and Asthma Exacerbations”

“Findings In this nested case-control study of 35 508 patients with asthma, those in the highest quartile of residential UNGD activity had significantly higher odds of 3 types of asthma exacerbations (new oral corticosteroid medication orders, emergency department visits, and hospitalizations) than those in the lowest quartile”.

While this study was done in the north-east, do NOT rest assured Texans in Arlington Gasland TX are not suffering-they are breathers too.

Here are four news agency reports on the study…..

http://www.dallasnews.com/business/headlines/20160718-study-fracking-might-worsen-asthma-for-children-adults-living-near-wells.ece

Fracking might worsen asthma for children, adults living near wells

“The highest risk for asthma attacks occurred in people living a median of about 12 miles from drilled wells. The lowest risk was for people living a median of about 40 miles away”.

 

——————

http://medicalxpress.com/news/2016-07-fracking-industry-wells-asthma.html

Fracking industry wells associated with increased risk of asthma attacks, study finds

“The Hopkins researchers identified more than 35,000 asthma patients……They mapped where the patients with these attacks lived; assigned them metrics based on the location, size, number, phase, total depth and gas production of the wells; and compared them to asthma patients who didn’t have attacks in the same year.

Those who lived closer to a large number or bigger active natural gas wells were significantly more likely – 1.5 to four times more likely – to suffer asthma attacks”.

————-

https://stateimpact.npr.org/pennsylvania/2016/07/18/health-study-shows-connection-between-asthma-attacks-and-gas-drilling/

Health study shows connection between asthma attacks and gas drilling

“Looking at four stages of shale gas well activity, which included preparing the well site, drilling, fracking, and production, Rasmussen says they found that people with asthma who live near more intense shale gas activity are 1.5 to 4.4 times more likely to suffer from an asthma attack.

The study also broke up the severity of the asthma attack into three categories, including mild, moderate and severe. Mild included a new asthma medication. Moderate meant a visit to the emergency room, while severe correlated with hospitalization. There were increased associations with mild, moderate and severe incidents.The increased risk was also associated with all four stages of well development.


https://insideclimatenews.org/news/18072016/asthma-study-marcellus-shale-pennsylvania-natural-gas-fracking

Increased Asthma Attacks Tied to Exposure to Natural Gas Production

“Rasmussen said the paper is the first to examine unconventional natural gas development and “objective respiratory impacts,” which refer to incidents reported to health providers in the form of hospital visits or prescriptions”.

“Bernard Goldstein, an emeritus professor at the University of Pittsburgh School of Public Health, said the study’s findings are important but should come as no surprise, given what’s known about links between air pollution and asthma. “There are regional ozone problems that could easily be exacerbated by fracking operations.”

—–

So as usual I will post my email to our city health official, who is 100% unresponsive…..

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Cynthia Simmons <cynthia.simmons@arlingtontx.gov>
Cc: Robert Rivera <robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; Jeff Williams <jeff.williams@arlingtontx.gov>; Victoria Myers <victoria.farrar-myers@arlingtontx.gov>; John Dugan <john.dugan@arlingtontx.gov>; Jenny Narvaez <jnarvaez@nctcog.org>; Chris Klaus <cklaus@nctcog.org>
Sent: Monday, July 18, 2016 5:16 PM
Subject: Hopkins Researchers foundy correlation to higher asthma rates near fracking
Dr Simmons you have been 100% consistent in being nonresponsive to my concerns over the years to the health risks to Arlington residents near fracking sites. I am asking you again to post on the city website what your medical opinion is about Arlington resident’s health risks in having to cohabitate with gas wells in their neighborhoods and near our schools.
Please read below and let me know if you can respond, thanks.
Kim
Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s