Digging caused pipeline Gas Leak at UTA, zero tolerance needed w/these added risk factors….

uta gas leak may 2017Here is the link for the alert…http://alerts.skytruth.org/report/1d5ec80c-430c-3fa0-81b0-ba3d0bba2250

May 18, 2017 there was a gas leak due to a contractor hitting a pipeline with digging equipment. While this happens often, with natural gas well production occurring within the city limits “and” also on campus…..

gas wells by UTA…….there needs to be another level of prevention as the risk for a chain event of explosions is worrisome.

The company that owns the UTA padsite has changed ownership for a total of  THREE!

Originally it was Carrizo, then Enervest, and now it is owned by Saddle, so we are already having a third tier operator maintaining the padsites.

Additionally, with UTArlington being a state institution, our LOCAL GAS WELL INSPECTORS do not have purview to inspect that site.

I suggest any permits issued by the city are first worked by the gas well department who works with the RRC to identify pipelines and not leave that task to the digging company working on roads and new development.

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Victoria Myers <victoria.farrar-myers@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Rivera <robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; Jeff Williams <jeff.williams@arlingtontx.gov>; Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; John Dugan <john.dugan@arlingtontx.gov>; Don Crowson <don.crowson@arlingtontx.gov>; “david.porter@rrc.state.tx.us” <david.porter@rrc.state.tx.us>; Ryan Mitchell <ryan.mitchell@arlingtontx.gov>; “ryan.sitton@rrc.texas.gov” <ryan.sitton@rrc.texas.gov>; Jessica Youngblood <jessica.youngblood@arlingtontx.gov>
Cc: Brett Shipp <bshipp@wfaa.com>; Fire <fire@arlingtontx.gov>; “firetraining@dfwairport.com” <firetraining@dfwairport.com>
Sent: Thursday, June 8, 2017 11:13 AM
Subject: May gas leak at UTA and future risk mitigation suggestion
May 18, 2017 there was a gas leak due to a contractor hitting a pipeline with digging equipment. While this happens often, with natural gas well production occurring within the city limits “and” also on campus……
……there needs to be another level of prevention as the risk for a chain event of explosions is worrisome.
The company that owns the UTA padsite has changed ownership for a total of  THREE!
Originally it was Carrizo, then Enervest, and now it is owned by Saddle, so we are already having a third tier operator maintaining the padsites.
Additionally, with UTArlington being a state institution, our LOCAL GAS WELL INSPECTORS do not have purview to inspect that site.
I suggest any permits issued by the city are first worked by the gas well department who works with the RRC to identify pipelines and not leave that task to the digging company working on roads and new development.
Sincerely,
Kim Feil

 

 

Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in leak, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s