Launch of New Respirable Crystalline Silica in Construction Standard, 29 CFR § 1926.1153

Yesterday I snapped a picture of a frack job….

IMG_0540 (2)

Pic 10/18/17 8am north of I30 and east of 820 white plume

Now that the new OSHA silica standard just went into effect 9/23/2017, I wondered if this pad site was in compliance and if the public would FINALLY get protection from flying frack silica sand in Urban Drilling?

Maybe in 4 years…yep we’re fracked….unless our local Home Rule laws can be add mitigation like this…http://blowing.sucks/289/

Here is the memo:

OSHA’s overview page of what constitutes a source of silica exposure explicitly states hydraulic fracturing…

…….BUT when you go to OSHA’s site, they separate construction from mining……..

But in “general industry” which includes fracking/mining, OSHA shows what these new limits/standards are…….

……and while the new standard took effect last month, 100% compliance isn’t mandated til June of next year in 2018…… A N D, it also shows how the fracking industry doesn’t have to retool with engineering preventions until mid year of 2021. Which means the non-employees (TCEQ calls it receptors- I call them the General Unsuspecting Public Innocent Guinea Pigs of Urban Drilling) do not get silica airborne protections like the workers do.  So in addition to face protections, some other measures are to wet it down or use a vacuum. 

osha limits except for fracking date

But then what does the Health Department and TCEQ do to protect the public?……..AskMSHA@dol.gov and your local city government……

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: Don Crowson <don.crowson@arlingtontx.gov>; Trey Yelverton <trey.yelverton@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Parajon <jim.parajon@arlingtontx.gov>; Jeff Williams <jeff.williams@arlingtontx.gov>; Lana Wolff <lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov>; Charlie Parker <charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov>; Michael Glaspie <michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov>; Kathryn Wilemon <kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov>; Sheri Capehart <sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.gov>; Victoria Myers <victoria.farrar-myers@arlingtontx.gov>; Robert Shepard <robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov>; John Dugan <john.dugan@arlingtontx.gov>; “roxanne.thalman@arlingtontx.gov” <roxanne.thalman@arlingtontx.gov>; Cynthia Simmons <cynthia.simmons@arlingtontx.gov>; Jessica Youngblood <jessica.youngblood@arlingtontx.gov>; Jim Self <jim.self@arlingtontx.gov>; Jay W. White <jay.white@arlingtontx.gov>
Cc: Brett Shipp <bshipp@wfaa.com>
Sent: Monday, October 23, 2017 8:38 AM
Subject: Fw: Q on Public Protections for New Silica Standards
Since HB40 states we cannot regulate subsurface oil and gas activities, lets add an item to our Gas Drilling Ordinance to mandate the MITIGATION of flying silica dust (which won’t officially be federally required til mid 2021 for the fracking industry).
Thank you.
Kim Feil
—– Forwarded Message —–
From: kim feil <kimfeil@sbcglobal.net>
To: “AskMSHA@dol.gov” <AskMSHA@dol.gov>
Sent: Monday, October 23, 2017 8:12 AM
Subject: Q on Public Protections for New Silica Standards
Subject: Does the new OSHA Silica Laws pertain to fracking?
I saw fracking sand flying from the highway yesterday (once I was enveloped in frac sand flying and had heart palpitations and disorientation in having to drive through a nearby frac job). The new OSHA construction silica standard took effect recently, but I see the mining industry may not be subject to these standards. If the mining for minerals industry is exempt to retool to prevent flying frac sand by 2021, please advise how to at least protect the general public from silica exposures in the interum, thanks.

======

Well opacity violations are far and few between…like this Arlington event…..that backs up to a densely populated neighborhood!

 Here are two stills from above video that shows before and after pics of the “sock/pillow-case” pathetic current mitigation system….

 

 

opacity arlington

Advertisements

About Kim Triolo Feil

Since TX Statute 253.005 forbids drilling in heavily settled municipalities, I unsuccessfully ran for City Council Seat to try to enforce this. Since Urban Drilling, our drinking water has almost tripled for TTHM's. Before moving to Arlington in 1990, I lived in Norco’s “cancer alley”, a refinery town. It was only after Urban Drilling in Arlington did I start having health effects. After our drill site was established closest to my home, the chronic nosebleeds started. I know there are more canaries here in Arlington having reactions to our industrialized airshed (we have 55-60 padsites of gas wells). Come forward and report to me those having health issues especially if you live to the north/northwest of a drill site so I can map your health effects on this blog. My youtube account is KimFeilGood. FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE MAY CONTAIN COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. MATERIAL FROM DIVERSE AND SOMETIMES TEMPORARY SOURCES IS BEING MADE AVAILABLE IN A PERMANENT UNIFIED MANNER, AS PART OF AN EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH EMINENT DOMAIN AND THE PRIVATIZATION OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE (AMONG OTHER THINGS). IT IS BELIEVED THAT THIS IS A 'FAIR USE' OF THE INFORMATION AS ALLOWED UNDER SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 USC SECTION 107, THE SITE IS MAINTAINED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR THOSE WHO ACCESS IT FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/ TO USE MATERIAL REPRODUCED ON THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES THAT GO BEYOND 'FAIR USE', PERMISSION IS REQUIRED FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER INDICATED WITH A NAME AND INTERNET LINK AT THE END OF EACH ITEM. (NOTE: THE TEXT OF THIS NOTICE WAS ALSO LIFTED FROM CORRIDORNEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM)
This entry was posted in osha, silica, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s